What Will Your Focus Be

 

belief-1139050__180Many have asked me who and what I believe in. Here is my response. Simply put, I believe in God, not because someone told me to, I am too strong-willed for  that, but because of my own tangible experience. Even if I decided to walk away from God, I cannot deny the truth that He is real, not when I have actually experienced His power, His love, His peace, His grace, His healing and His mercy. I used to mock those who believed in Him, but have had to eat my words after I discovered that the joke was on me!

You must experience Him to know and believe, and if you have not, and have chosen not to have the experience, how will you know what is true and what is not?

Some of us have never tried God, so we genuinely do not know what He is capable of. Some of us blatantly choose to not try Him at all. But some of us have tried Him, and tasted His love, but are too afraid to talk about it. We might have gotten too bogged down by life’s challenges, and have forgotten what He is capable of. Some of us may feel too discouraged to continue following Him and having faith in Him, because we find it too difficult to keep waiting for God to unveil and fulfill His plans for us. We feel trapped by persecution and the rejection from our loved ones, friends, and colleagues. Some of us feel disappointed by our churches or pastors, and have turned away from God, but what crime did God commit? Don’t forget that pastors, preachers, teachers, worship leaders, and evangelists are flawed human beings, just like we are. I am not making any excuses for them, but they have their own personal struggles, weaknesses and demons to wrestle too, so do not use them as your yardstick, but use Jesus Christ instead.

This is why we should look up to Him, the Author and the Finisher of our faith. He should be our yardstick, not people. While we are busy using the mistakes, imperfections, and weaknesses of other humans as reasons to not accept Him, God’s grace does not dissipate. It is still at work, because what He starts, He will finish. We can continue pointing fingers at each other and condemning each other, or we can focus on His powerful, life-giving, tender, merciful, loyal, and faithful grace. What do we choose today? Criticizing and judging others, focusing on their wrongdoings, or tapping into His grace that delivers, brings victory, and breathes life into dead situations? I have yet to witness how condemning and judging another person has ever solved anyone’s problems.

If we would focus on divine purpose and divine will, we would be focused on becoming better people and helping others, rather than condemning them and giving up on them, tearing them down, judging them, and casting them aside.

We can focus on doing our own research to find out whether or not this God of the Bible is real and true, or we can decide to follow our intellect, free will, theories and philosophies and decide and insist that He is not real. In  finding your own answers, make sure that you know beyond a shadow of doubt that God does not exist, or that He indeed does exist. 

As for me, with all my imperfections and quirks, I will not refrain from talking about this God. I will not be ashamed of Him, and I refuse to shut up about Him. I will not debate about Him, but I will have the conversation. I will not try and persuade a mind made up to argue about His existence, but I will have the conversation. After the conversation about this unpopular and unwanted God, this untapped, uncommon power, it is entirely up to you to seek the truth.

Will you focus on condemning others or will you find your tangible experience?

You decide!

DUNAMIS

The Reminder - FrontCover

Please click on The Reminder Page to purchase your copies!

Questions? Please write to: QuietPower2015@gmail.com

Leave a Reply

